NAREI’s Board to serve two years

For the first time, the Board of Directors of the National Agricultural Research and Extension Institute (NAREI) has been appointed to serve a two-year period. The life of the board will conclude on June 30, 2018. Previous boards were appointed by Cabinet for only one year.

All members of the previous board were reappointed. Major General (Rtd) Joseph Singh was reappointed Chairman of the Board. The only new member is Mr. Omadatt Chandan. However, for the past two months Chandan has been carrying out the functions of the Secretary to the Board.

Below are the members of the Board of Directors:

  • Oudho Homenauth – Ex- officio Member
  • George Jervis – Member
  • T. M. Velloza – Member
  • Mahendra Persaud – Member
  • Brian Greenidge – Member
  • Wilmott Garnett – Member
  • Gavin Ramnarine – Member
  • Cecil Seepersaud – Member
  • Holly Greaves – Member
  • Prema Ramanah-Roopnarine – Member
  • Ricky Roopchand – Member
  • Omadatt Chandan- Secretary

At a management meeting on Friday (today) at NAREI, Chief Executive Officer of NAREI, Dr. Oudho Homenauth emphasised the importance of having a board that will be functioning for two years.  He assured that the continuity of the Board would allow NAREI to focus on what it needs to achieve.

Dr. Homenauth related that over the next two years NAREI will be focusing on: the resuscitation of the coconut industry; commence developing 10,000 and 20,000 acres of land at Ebini and Pirara, respectively; improve research in soils; improve agriculture in the hinterland; develop climate resilient technologies; increase production of non-traditional crops; and promote sustainable development and green technologies.

Major General (Rtd) Joseph Singh, who was present at meeting, said that he will continue to be objective, transparent and supportive. Further, the Board and the CEO will operate as a team. The Board will be meeting with staff more frequently to focus on transformative idea